What Do You Eat?

26 Jan

As a vegetarian, I get asked all the time “What do you eat?”. I got asked this question today, in fact, which is what inspired this post. So here’s what I made for dinner tonight:

It’s part of my “Make It Up As I Go Along” series. 😉 It’s tempeh, red onion, garlic, cumin and greens sautéed in olive oil. My CSA box has encouraged many creations from the “Make It Up As I Go Along” series, since I always have to find creative ways to use up my veggies.

Other things I eat for dinner that are delicious and meat free:

Garbanzo beans in Trader Joe’s curry simmer sauce over brown rice (if I have greens to use up, I will add them in with the beans and sauce. It’s yummy!)
Black Bean Soup (click here for recipe)
Lentil Stew (click here for recipe)
Breakfast for dinner with a veggie scramble (whatever veggies I want to use up combined with eggs)

Speaking of food, I’ve been doing my diet for about two weeks now and I’m down five pounds! The best part though is that after avoiding sugar for two weeks and eating every 2-3 hours to keep my blood sugar even, I feel great! I have so much more energy and I don’t get “that 2:30 feeling” in the afternoons anymore. And when I come home from work, I still have energy to do stuff, rather than just planting my ass on the couch. 😀 Now I just have to make myself remember this feeling forever whenever I see a dessert that calls my name. Avoiding sugar makes it easier to avoid sugar though. 😉 Meaning if you don’t eat sugar, you don’t crave it.

Next up on my health “to do” list is taking my exercise to the next level. Up until this point, I’ve just been doing walking and easy hikes, but I finally feel like my body is adequately recovered from my broken leg and I can start to push myself more.

Hooray for feeling fine and healthy!

7 Responses to “What Do You Eat?”

  1. VogueVegetarian January 26, 2012 at 9:44 pm #

    I love this question because since becoming vegetarian, I realized I eat WAY more foods than I did as a omnivore. When eating meat, we tend to surround our meals around 4 various meat groups; poultry, beef, fish and pork. It can get pretty boring. But when you eat vegetarian, you now have hundreds of options as your meal base. I rarely eat the same thing twice a month. It’s amazing!

    • cabsanddogs January 26, 2012 at 9:57 pm #

      I TOTALLY AGREE!!! I was just saying this today when I got the “what do you eat?” question. Being vegetarian is forced creativity and it’s delicious too. It opens a whole new world of food!

  2. Dustin Camp (@creamycamper) January 27, 2012 at 7:40 am #

    YAY for your leg getting better!!!

  3. Tee @ She Writes, Bites, and Window Shops January 28, 2012 at 5:04 pm #

    Ugh, I’m totally in the boat of my knee still recovering from surgery and not being able to work out. Glad your leg is healing well!

    • cabsanddogs January 28, 2012 at 11:55 pm #

      I’m at exactly 5 months post surgery and just starting to feel like I’m ready for real exercise. I did yoga today for the first time since my surgery. It felt great, but I was totally wobbly on some moves. I’m sure you will get there eventually too.

  4. ChrisStergalas.com January 30, 2012 at 9:59 am #

    CSA’s are really miracle workers. They entice you to try new things, and find clever uses for them. On my list this week, salsify root.

    • cabsanddogs January 31, 2012 at 9:21 pm #

      Salsify root sounds very interesting! I’m getting green garlic tomorrow, which I can’t wait to try. I love garlic in general, so garlic straight from the field should be amazing.

      Thanks for following my blog! I followed you too. We are both pescitarians! I must admit that I would never cook meat for another person though. You are brave to do that.

Leave a Reply

