A Classic Fail

19 Jan

It was a rough night in the Cabs and Dogs household last night. The younger furry kid woke up several times during the night with barfing and, umm, you know, that other thing that often comes with barfing. 😯

Just like a kid daycare, doggie daycare doesn’t take sick kids, so luckily I was able to work from home today so I could be here with him in case there were any more “incidents.” There were, in fact, a few “incidents” and there was also a lot of this:

For dinner tonight, I made Iowa Girl Eats’ Superfood Salad and, as luck would have it, someone suddenly felt a lot better when I was trying to make dinner. Just like a kid, he wanted to play, he wanted to eat and he wanted to go to the bathroom. 🙄

This salad was really good. It was also a lot of work. In fact, it totally violated my rule of chopping no more than three veggies per recipe. 😉 I doubled the recipe too because I wanted to have leftovers for lunches, so that meant double the work. I also made a classic cooking fail – I totally underestimated the size of bowl I would need.

I got about half way through the recipe and my bowl was totally heaping full and I couldn’t really stir it. D’oh! 😳 So then I had to bring out the big guns:

A bowl normally reserved for making stuffing on Thanksgiving had to be busted out on a random Thursday night.

It fits!

That’s much better!

Then it was time to get my eat on because I was seriously tired after making this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
What’s more important to you when cooking – convenience or deliciousness? I would say I fall somewhere in the middle on this one. I’m definitely not willing to work too hard for a weeknight meal, but if it’s a special meal or on a weekend, then I’m willing to get down and dirty for yummy food.

*Note: I did make a few modifications the original recipe: I did not use corn and I used maple syrup in the dressing instead of sugar.

One Response to “A Classic Fail”

  1. Dustin Camp (@creamycamper) January 20, 2012 at 3:06 pm #

    Poor Cy! Glad he feels better.

Leave a Reply

