I’m On The Wagon

8 Jan

The diet wagon, that is. 😉

Since it’s that time of year and since I have big plans for 2012 (like maybe, kinda, sorta trying for a baby :shock:), I decided it’s time to focus on my health. The program I’m doing is called First Line Therapy and it’s something I had started doing last summer, before I broke my leg. But then I totally got off track, since I wasn’t even able to cook my own meals. So now, I’m back!

Now let’s be real for a minute, this plan is a diet it is not a “lifestyle change” or any of that BS. It is simply too restrictive to be a lifestyle – no booze or caffeine allowed (two of my favorite things. :(). It is, however, a good way to lose weight and you do learn things on it that can and should be incorporated into a healthy lifestyle. For example, on this plan, you must eat small meals throughout the day, every 2-3 hours. This was HUGE for me when I did it before. I had always thought of myself as being good about having healthy snacks between meals, but what I learned was that I would let myself get too hungry before I eat the snacks and my blood sugar would drop. Keeping your blood sugar even throughout the day will make a huge difference in your mood and energy!

Another thing I like about this plan is that it’s focused on eating whole foods – no Jenny-Craig-style frozen miniature pizzas here. 🙂 Here’s a sample of a typical day:

Breakfast (eat within 1 hour of waking up):
Smoothie made with vanilla meal replacement. (this specific plan includes a meal replacement powder that you drink once a day to help ensure you are getting all the vitamins you need, but you could add in a vanilla protein powder, if you prefer). In my smoothie, I put 2 scoops meal replacement, 1 cup water, ice, 1/2 cup frozen raspberries, 1 Tbs peanut butter, 1/2 cup low-fat ricotta cheese, and several handfuls of spinach. I know what you are thinking, the ricotta cheese sounds disgusting, but trust me, you can’t even taste it. I like to add it as a way to get more protein. It’s better than adding yogurt, since most yogurt has added sugar and sugar is a no-no on this plan.

Morning Snack (eat 2-3 hours after breakfast):
3/4 cup low-fat cottage cheese with 1 pear diced. Cottage cheese and pear is a yummy combo!

Lunch (eat 2-3 hours after snack):
Black Bean Soup. Keep reading for a delicious and easy recipe below.

Afternoon (eat 2-3 hours after lunch):
1/4 cup hummus with veggies. My two favorite veggie dippers are broccoli and cauliflower

Dinner (eat 2-3 hours after snack):
Veggie Fried Rice. Made using 1 cup brown rice, 2 eggs and whatever veggies you like. Be sure you watch how much oil you use when cooking this. The plan allows for 4 Tsp of oil per day, so use wisely and spread throughout the day.

For lunch, I like to have black bean soup, so I make a big pot of it on Sunday, so that I can eat it throughout the week. Here is a delicious and very easy recipe that I found on the Cooking with Trader Joe’s blog.

Black Bean Soup
Note: I doubled the recipe below because I wanted to have a week’s worth of lunches.

Ingredients

• 1 medium yellow onion, peeled and chopped (or use 1 1/2 cups TJ’s Freshly Diced Onion)
• 1 clove crushed garlic, or 1 cube frozen Crushed Garlic
• 2 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
• 1 tsp ground cumin
• 2 (15-oz) cans black beans (do not drain)
• 1 jar of your favorite salsa, such as TJ’s Chunky Salsa
• 2 Tbsp lime juice (juice of 1 lime)

Instructions
1. In a medium pot, add the olive oil and sauté the onions until they are soft and translucent.

2. Add cumin and garlic, sautéing for an additional minute.
3. Pour in black beans (including juices), salsa, and lime juice. Stir to combine and bring to a simmer. Simmer covered for 20 minutes.

It’s that easy! And then you have a delicious bowl of black bean soup to enjoy. You can also top it with sour cream, if you like, but I don’t think it needs it, plus that’s not allowed on my diet. 😉

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I know different things work for different people. Do you have a “go to” method for losing weight?

6 Responses to “I’m On The Wagon”

  1. Robyn January 10, 2012 at 6:00 am #

    Whoa lady, you droppin’ bombs on this one! Exciting stuff for the future!!!

    • cabsanddogs January 10, 2012 at 6:54 am #

      Yeah, you like how I just slipped that one in there? 😉

      • Dustin Camp (@creamycamper) January 16, 2012 at 9:41 am #

        I finally figured out how to avoid putting my name, email every time. Yeah, I know, I’m supposed to be a computer nerd, but sometimes I play dumb.

        YAY! Little Bell-Zechs (I cleaned it up for this; it’s high class)!

  2. Erin January 16, 2012 at 11:45 am #

    Yea for baby! Think of the awesome baby food you can make with your fresh fruits and veggies!

    • cabsanddogs January 16, 2012 at 2:34 pm #

      I would love to be one of those mommies who makes baby food!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What Do You Eat? « Cabs and Dogs - January 26, 2012

    […] greens to use up, I will add them in with the beans and sauce. It’s yummy!) -Black Bean Soup (click here for recipe) -Lentil Stew (click here for recipe) -Breakfast for dinner with a veggie scramble […]

Leave a Reply

