Kicking Off The New Year Right

2 Jan

Tomorrow marks the end of Christmas vacation. 😥 But at least I can say we have made the most of our time off!

On New Year’s Eve, we headed up to Hollywood for a matinée of Wicked at The Pantages Theatre.

It was awesome! I was definitely tearing up during parts of it. Plus the Pantages is a gorgeous venue, so that made it extra special! After that we headed home to ring in the New Year with a little champagne and some New Year’s Rockin’ Eve on the tube.

Yesterday, we kicked off the New (healthier) Year right with a hike and veggie-filled lunch at Panera. This was the same hike we went on during Thanksgiving weekend and my leg was much stronger than it was then, just over a month ago, so I was pretty happy with my progress.

Today, we had a once in a lifetime experience – we went to the Rose Parade. And I say once in a lifetime because we are never going back again. 😉 Seeing the Rose Parade is one of those things that is very nice to say you have done once, but in my (and hubby’s) opinion, it is simply not worth the hassle when you can easily watch it from the comfort of your couch. We had grandstand seats, so we didn’t have to camp out overnight to get seats, but we were seriously crammed into those seats like sardines! I was literally straddling a rather large man who smelled like his last shower was… well, not today. 😯 Complaining aside, the floats were beautiful! And as a former band geek, I enjoyed and had great sympathy for those poor kids walking miles in those hot band uniforms. 🙂 Here are some photos of the festivities:

Smiling through the pain of sitting in the bleachers.

Trader Joe's Float - one of my faves.

Some band geek love - Wisconsin Badgers Band

AIDS Foundation Float with Liz Taylor's face in flowers. Very cool!

My fave float! It was called "If Pigs Could Fly" and the pigs were so cute!

And now I’m off to prepare for the workweek ahead. Blah! 😦

p.s. Still working on my New Year’s goals list (and, yes, I’m calling them goals instead of resolutions). Will post later this week. 😀

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I have to ask, what are your goals for 2012?

One Response to “Kicking Off The New Year Right”

  1. forevervintageblog January 2, 2012 at 9:16 pm #

    Wicked really is a great musical. I loved it too. We both have the same blog theme, yay!

Leave a Reply

