The Gift of Relaxation

28 Dec

This year, since we had just gotten our house back in order after our water damage and were totally ill prepared for Christmas, we decided to give ourselves the gift of relaxation. We headed out to La Quinta, California, land of sunshine, beauty and golf courses, to stay at the La Quinta Resort and Club over the holiday. We ultimately decided after this trip that we aren’t really “destination Christmas” type of people, but that did not make this trip any less special.

This resort is absolutely gorgeous! The surroundings immediately bring you into a state of zen.

Our furry kids (aka dogs) especially loved it. They did a lot of this:

Basking in the Sun

Cy in the Sun

And this:

Going for a Walk

I think Sadie is actually smiling in this one. Maybe she and Cy are planning to pack up and move to La Quinta without us.

The hubby and I did plenty of basking in the sun and walking, as well, along with this:

Sitting in front of the fireplace.

And this:

Sitting in the beautiful hotel lobby, pretending I know how to play chess.

As if this wasn’t enough, the place is totally “Christmas-ed Out.” Apparently, Frank Capra was staying here back in the day when he wrote It’s a Wonderful Life, so the resort has a few “Wonderful Life” touches, like this Bedford Falls sign:

Now I’m looking forward to 2012 and thinking about what resolutions I want to make. I’m going to go ahead and say that updating my blog more frequently will definitely be on the list. πŸ˜‰ Stay tuned for my resolutions. I’ll be sure to post them once I come up with a full list. Maybe that way I will be shamed into actually accomplishing some of them. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

