Thanksgiving Weekend: The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly

26 Nov

The Good:

Yesterday, the hubby and I went on a hike – my first one since I broke my leg. 🙂 I had done this hike PBL (pre-broken leg) and thought it was too easy, so I thought it would be a good one to start with while I’m still rehabilitating. It was definitely not as easy as the first time I did it. I guess I shouldn’t be surprised, but it was kind of a wake-up call as to how weak my leg is still. It was a 2 mile hike and my leg started to get sore about half way through. It was still fun though and a great way to work off some of the damage we did on Thanksgiving. Plus it was a BEAUTIFUL day out!

Hubby taking in the scenery

Hardest part of the hike - climbing this hill

I made it to the top!

View of beautiful downtown Irvine 😉

Toward the end - hubby was quite a ways ahead of me at this point. I was getting tired.

The Bad:

Our Thanksgiving meal. 😦 The buffet we went to was less than impressive. I was not expecting it to be as good as what we would have made at home, had our house not been a disaster area, but I did have high hopes that it would at least be good.

Round One: Beet Salad, Shrimp Cocktail, and Smoked Salmon on a Bagel with Cream Cheese

Best thing on this plate was the smoked salmon. The beet salad was supposed to have goat cheese too, but there was literally one piece of goat cheese in my entire serving. Shrimp cocktail was pretty much tasteless.

Round Two: Bread and Butter, Sweet Potatoes, Mashed Potatoes, Wild Rice, and Mahi Mahi

Best thing on this plate was the mahi mahi. The sweet potatoes were not a color I’ve ever seen from any sweet potato. They were OK, but nothing to rave about. Mashed potatoes were bland. Wild Rice was also just OK. Bread and butter was, well, bread and butter. How can you really mess up bread and butter?

Round Three: Pecan Bar, Chocolate Cake, and Pumpkin Bar

Best thing on this plate was the pecan bar. The chocolate cake was just OK. The pumpkin bar was not very pumpkin-ie at all. I didn’t even finish it, so you know it was bad when I didn’t finish something pumpkin on Thanksgiving.

The Ugly:
I ended up getting sick from the buffet. 😦 But luckily after a little nap, I was feeling well enough to watch my FAVORITE Christmas movie – Christmas Vacation. This part should actually be filed under “The Good.” 😉 I never get tired of this movie. So many great quotes:

Where do you think you’re going? Nobody’s leaving. Nobody’s walking out on this fun, old-fashioned family Christmas. No, no. We’re all in this together. This is a full-blown, four-alarm holiday emergency here. We’re gonna press on, and we’re gonna have the hap, hap, happiest Christmas since Bing Crosby tap-danced with Danny fucking Kaye. And when Santa squeezes his fat white ass down that chimney tonight, he’s gonna find the jolliest bunch of assholes this side of the nuthouse.

Can I refill your eggnog for you? Get you something to eat? Drive you out to the middle of nowhere and leave you for dead?

We’re kicking off our fun old fashion family Christmas by heading out into the country in the old front-wheel drive sleigh to embrace the frosty majesty of the winter landscape and select that most important of Christmas symbols.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
What did you do this Thanksgiving Weekend? Did you hit up any Black Friday sales? I love to look at all the ads on Thanksgiving morning, but I personally think that Black Friday business is for crazy people. 😉

One Response to “Thanksgiving Weekend: The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Kicking Off The New Year Right « Cabs and Dogs - January 9, 2012

    […] Year right with a hike and veggie-filled lunch at Panera. This was the same hike we went on during Thanksgiving weekend and my leg was much stronger than it was then, just over a month ago, so I was pretty happy with my […]

Leave a Reply

