I’m Ba-ack!!!

19 Nov

It’s been almost a week since I posted anything. 😯 I guess time flies when you’re having fun. And by having fun, I mean being trapped in essentially one room of our house while our water damage mess is STILL being sorted out. Let’s just say that now when I see those commercials for State Farm insurance where the guy calls State Farm in the middle of the night and then the voiceover says “State Farm is there,” I giggle. Our adjuster said she would have her report done by “Friday at the latest,” except, guess what, she didn’t. Oh, and, opps, she’s on vacation all next week. 😑 I don’t know about you, but I generally have to finish all my work before I go on vacation!

On a much less grumpy note, today we ventured out to South Coast Plaza, as I was on the hunt for comfy and supportive, yet stylish shoes. Ever since I broke my leg, I’ve been wearing athletic shoes, including to work with dress clothes. As anyone who knows me well will tell you, I’m a bit of a shoe whore, but since high heels are a major no-no at this point in my recovery, something had to be done. (Meanwhile, I’m still shedding tears over the closet full of gorgeous shoes I can’t wear. :cry:) After trying on several pairs of shoes, I settled on these:

A boot that is supportive, yet cute. And they are from Cole Haan, so you know they are comfy. Plus the elastic will have a bit of “give” for when my ankle swells up. (Dr. says it could continue to swell until 6 months after surgery.)

While we were at South Coast, we hit up a restaurant I’ve been wanting to try ever since it opened over a year ago – Seasons 52. The menu is seasonal, hence the name, plus everything on the menu is 475 calories or less! They don’t cook with any butter, so that really helps the calorie count, but you would never guess that it was low calories when you eat it. Everything we had was absolutely delicious!

We started with an appetizer of artichoke and goat cheese flatbread.

For my entree, I had the Sonoma Goat Cheese Ravioli. It was so good that I told hubby that if I was eating it at home, I would have slurped the sauce off my plate. πŸ˜€

And for dessert, they have little cups of sweets. The perfect amount of sweetness to finish of your meal, without being overly indulgent. Hubby had the Chocolate Peanut Butter Mousse and I had the Mocha Macchiato. We each tried a bite of the others’ and both agreed that the Chocolate PB Mousse was the better of the two.

Finally, saving the best news for last, our Iowa State Cyclones pulled off a HUGE win last night by beating Oklahoma State, which was ranked #2 in the country before they came to Ames. πŸ˜€ Here’s an excellent article and video about Paul Rhoads, our beloved coach (and my not-so-secret older man crush. ;)) Love that guy!

All, in all, an excellent weekend so far!

Leave a Reply

