Shut The Front Door!

10 Nov

Well my day was filled with several “shut the front door!” moments, but one of the bigger ones was when I realized that Thanksgiving is only two weeks away and I haven’t even started thinking about what we are going to eat yet. 😯 What was I thinking?!!

Since I don’t eat meat, I like to do a mix of traditional and non-traditional dishes for the holidays. And when I need to plan a meal, I like to turn to my favorite cookbook, How to Cook Everything Vegetarian.

(There is also a meat-eaters’ version called How to Cook Everything.) This is seriously the best cookbook! Get this cookbook and you don’t need any others! The recipes are relatively easy, but yet not boring, so they still appeal to foodies.

They even have sample menu plans for different celebrations. Here is the one for Thanksgiving:

Those sweet potato biscuits sound right up my alley! I might have to try those.

Luckily, the postal gods were on the same wavelength as me and sent me the Trader Joe’s Food Pilgrimager flyer in the mail today. (Please tell me I’m not the only one who gets a thrill by finding a Trader Joe’s flyer in my mailbox. ;)) There were definitely a couple of interesting things in the flyer that caught my eye.

Butternut Squash and Creamed Spinach Gratin? Umm, yes, please!

Maple Roasted Sweet Potatoes? Absolutely!

Trader Joe’s also has an excellent Pumpkin Cheesecake in the frozen section. We had this for Thanksgiving last year and I would definitely get it again! Almost as good as Cheesecake Factory and much cheaper.

On the more traditional side of things, hubby loves crockpot stuffing and our scalloped corn is kind of legendary in the local potluck circles, so those will both probably be on the menu.

Now I have much to consider for our Thanksgiving meal…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What are your plans for Thanksgiving? Do you like to go the traditional route or do you prefer to mix in a few non-traditional goodies?

One Response to “Shut The Front Door!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thanksgiving Redo « Cabs and Dogs - November 14, 2011

    […] last week, I was drooling over all the things I wanted to make for Thanksgiving. What a difference a few days makes. Now I have come to the […]

Leave a Reply

