Today Was A Good Day

5 Nov

Cue Ice Cube! (Sorry, I couldn’t help myself. ;-))

Today was by far my biggest outing since I broke my ankle. Now that I’m down to one crutch, I can kinda, sorta walk like a normal person. WOO HOO!

After an early morning physical therapy appointment, we headed to the Yankee Candle store to pick-up some holiday scented candles. My Yankee Candle habit is definitely one I inherited from my mom. There is not a surface in her house that doesn’t have a Yankee Candle on it. πŸ˜‰

They were having a buy two, get two sale, so we ended up with the Christmas Cookie and Be Thankful scents. I’m pretty picky about the scents I like, since most of them remind me of bathroom air-freshener, so I was lucky to find two scents I liked. Hopefully, the store employees weren’t too insulted when I made a gagging noise after smelling most of the candles. πŸ˜‰

After working out our noses at the candle store, we headed over to my fav vegan restaurant – The Veggie Grill.

This place is seriously SO good! Not a bad thing on their menu! They claim that many carnivores come to eat there and never even know the food is vegan. I know this to be true because I have witnessed a surprised diner learn that he just ate vegan food. That’s how good their food is! πŸ™‚

I had the buffalo wings and sweetheart (sweet potato) fries. They have been voted best sweet potato fries in town and I agree whole-heartedly! Nobody beats these fries!

Hubby had the Chipotle BBQ sandwich, plus sweetheart fries. He is making his way through the menu with a goal of trying every item. We both agree that the best sandwich on the menu is the Santa Fe Crispy Chickin’, so if you are a vegan virgin, I would recommend starting your vegan experience with this sandwich.

They’re back…

Starbucks red holiday cups, that is. After lunch, we had to swing into SBUX for the first red cup of the season. I’m already in love with this year’s red cup design! A huge improvement over last year’s design. I usually buy one of the red cup tree ornaments every year, but last year’s design was so bad that I broke tradition in protest of the awful design. Take that Starbucks! πŸ˜‰

On the way home, we hit up Home Depot to see if they had any Fall mums left. I usually put mums out on our porch earlier in the Fall season, but since I wasn’t really able to get outside in order to water them, I had to hold off on adding a little festive Fall color this year.Β Luckily, I found these pre-potted plants that were full of gorgeous color! It’s exactly what a gimpy girl like myself needs – no mess, no fuss. πŸ™‚

So pretty!

And finally, after our big adventures, we returned home to watch our beloved Iowa State Cyclones defeat Kansas, 13-10. We had DVRed the game, since we were out and about, so I had to stay off Facebook for HOURS in order to not find out the score. Do you know how hard it was not to check Facebook on my phone?! πŸ˜‰

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What are your holiday traditions? Have you started any of them yet? I got my candles and mums today, obviously, and now hubby says he wants to start decorating for Christmas. 😯

One Response to “Today Was A Good Day”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Slap Some Paint On It « Cabs and Dogs - November 9, 2011

    […] on Saturday when we were at Home Depot looking for mums, we were accosted by one of those people who try to get you to set up an appointment for a […]

Leave a Reply

