Easiest. Dinner. Ever.

3 Nov

According to the giant dark circles under my eyes, I’m exhausted, so tonight’s dinner had to be something quick and easy. Luckily, we had the ingredients for one of the easiest dinners in my repertoire – Lentil Stew.

Lentil Stew Ingredients

Like I said, this is SO simple. You literally dump the contents of all three of these packages into a pot and cook for about 15 minutes until the potatoes are tender. Done and Done! πŸ™‚

Everybody in the pot together

After 15 minutes, you have a delicious soup, which is quite hardy due to the lentils and potatoes.

All done!

I originally found this recipe on the Cooking with Trader Joe’s blog, but have slightly modified it. The original recipe calls for Black Beluga Lentils, which TJ’s no longer sells, so I use the Steamed Lentils instead. Also, the original recipe calls for 1 1/2 cups of potatoes, but I dump in the whole bag because I hate having half-used containers of things sitting in my fridge/freezer thatΒ  never get used. This bag of frozen potatoes does come with a little pouch of chopped peppers and onions, but I don’t put that in the soup. It’s perfect to save for later for use in omelets!

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have to go fall asleep – at 8:15 pm. πŸ˜‰

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What’s your favorite “go to” quick and easy recipe?

3 Responses to “Easiest. Dinner. Ever.”

  1. kat November 3, 2011 at 11:06 pm #

    Oh yum! That’s not only easy but super tasty looking! πŸ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What Do You Eat? « Cabs and Dogs - January 26, 2012

    […] with the beans and sauce. It’s yummy!) -Black Bean Soup (click here for recipe) -Lentil Stew (click here for recipe) -Breakfast for dinner with a veggie scramble (whatever veggies I want to use up […]

Leave a Reply

