Pumpkin Obsession

26 Oct

It’s a well-known fact in my house that this time of year I become obsessed with all things pumpkin and today is no different. I started my day out with a warm mug of Pumpkin Spice Coffee from Trader Joe’s, made in my French press, naturally.

Trader Joe's Pumpkin Spice Coffee

Making coffee in a French press is the way to go!

This coffee comes pre-ground, mixed with natural “Fall-like” spices. I fully admit to being a bit of a coffee snob, so I usually drink fresh ground coffee that I grind in my burr mill grinder, but this Pumpkin Spice Coffee is so good that I make an exception to my snobbery. πŸ™‚ (By the way, here is a great guide to brewing the perfect cup of coffee, written by the owner of my favorite local coffee shop.)

So the pumpkin theme continued this evening when I made a delicious Pumpkin Spice Smoothie for dessert. I’ve been dying to try this recipe ever since I saw it on For The Love of Food. Here’s the recipe:

Pumpkin Spice Smoothie

Makes 1 serving

1/2 cup pumpkin puree

3/4 cup almond milk

1 banana

1/2 cup ice cubes

1/2 Tbs. ground flaxseeds

1/8 cup rolled oats

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1/4 tsp. nutmeg

Add all ingredients to blender and blend until smooth.

Pumpkin Spice Smoothie Ingredients

The original recipe made two servings, but I cut it in half since the hubby is long ago over the pumpkin thing. I also used vanilla almond milk instead of regular because that is what I happened to have in the house.

Pumpkin Spice Smoothie in action

Pumpkin Spice Smoothie

Pumpkin-pie-in-a-glass it is not, but this smoothie was way yummy, surprisingly refreshing and healthy. A healthy “dessert?” Yes, please! πŸ˜€

~~~~~~~~~~~~

So who is with me on the pumpkin obsession? What are your favorite pumpkin recipes?

4 Responses to “Pumpkin Obsession”

  1. Belva Snow October 27, 2011 at 11:03 am #

    Looks very good….EXCEPT the banana part. I DO NOT do bananas!! Do you think it would still be good. AND what would be the cost of the
    ingredients in case we wanted to serve it at the gallery?? Yea, Know Iowa prices would be less??

    • cabsanddogs October 27, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

      Without the banana, I think it wouldn’t be as thick, but that would probably be OK. The real issue with not having banana is the sweetness. Since banana adds a bit of natural sweetness, without it, you might want to add a bit of brown sugar or maybe some maple syrup to make it a little sweeter.

      The ingredients are relatively inexpensive. I believe the almond milk is about $2.99 for a half gallon at Trader Joe’s. The ground flaxseed is around $3.00 for a 16 oz. bag. Also, if it is for the gallery, hopefully you could buy the ingredients in bulk to get an even cheaper price.

  2. Barb Bell October 27, 2011 at 6:09 pm #

    I am the mother of our noteworthy blogger and, I too, am a coffee snob. Although moms are supposed to be the teachers, I will admit that my kids have taught me more about life and love than I could have learned on my own. So, about my coffee snobery…I was a guest in doggie mommas home for two weeks in August when I helped her through the insult of breaking her leg in three places. It was during that time that I became hooked on the burr mill grinder and French press and have since purchased my own. I agree that TJ’s pumpkin spice is a coffe that should be enjoyed by all and, since it’s not available in whole bean form, I highly recommend giving it a try in the ground form. I believe I am the one that turned the DM on to TJ’s vanilla almond milk. I use it in my coffe everyday and it gives you smooth and creamy for almost no calories.

    • cabsanddogs October 27, 2011 at 7:17 pm #

      Thanks, mom! Glad to hear that you went for it and bought the burr mill grinder and the French press. So worth it! Now we have TJ’s Winter Blend Coffee to look forward to soon. Three cheers for coffee snobs! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

