Sunday Funday

23 Oct

I’m what you might call a (very) amateur jewelry designer.  I like to make jewelry for myself and family and friends, but up until this point, I’ve only gotten my supplies from the likes of Joann’s and Michael’s. Well my friend and fellow crafty chick has been telling me about a for real bead store called “OC Bead Store” for months and since I can sorta, kinda walk now, I decided today was the day to venture out to the bead store. This place is a jewelry maker’s dream – beads as far as the eye can see in all shapes, colors and sizes.

Check out all those beads!

More beads!

I could have easily spent hundreds of dollars here – pretty beads ain’t cheap, but I managed to leave the store with only $45 in damage. (Hubby was along too since he had to drive me, so he helped me stay “on budget.” 😉 ) For $45, here is my haul:

Gorgeous Beads!

 

And then we saw it…

Five Guys Menu

In the same shopping center as the bead store was a Five Guys restaurant. Now it is a very rare occasion that I step foot in a fast-food restaurant (kind of against my foodie code of ethics), but there has been so much hype about this restaurant coming to California, that I HAD to try it. And it’s not like it’s McDonald’s, right? 😉

As I hobbled my way up to the door of the restaurant, I commented to the hubby that it looks like a total mess in there. “Oh, they throw peanuts on the floor in there,” he says, having been to the restaurant once before.

What a mess!

But the peanuts were good. I don’t think I’ve eaten peanuts in a shell for years.

Peanuts

Now to the main attraction – the food. Let’s just say that this place is not helping the obesity epidemic. The portions were huge! I got a grilled cheese with grilled mushrooms and onions, plus Cajun fries.

Cheesy!

Cajun Fries

Believe it or not, this is the “regular” size portion of fries. There is actually a large size portion bigger than this. Definitely an item to be shared, I barely finished half of these. Gigantic portion aside, these were pretty good with a nice Cajun spice.

And now I’m spent! This was my biggest outing since breaking my ankle and now mama is tired. Time to relax for the evening!


 

 

3 Responses to “Sunday Funday”

  1. Belva Snow October 23, 2011 at 8:34 pm #

    can’t believe no comments…I’m enjoying the adventures of my journalism niece, your writing certainly shows the college background.
    Love ya, Belva

    • cabsanddogs October 23, 2011 at 9:24 pm #

      Aww, thanks, Belva! Glad you are enjoying my adventures. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Crafty Goals « Cabs and Dogs - November 8, 2011

    […] remember when I went to the epic bead store? Well I finally made a couple of pieces with the beads I […]

Leave a Reply

